Count Basie - Count Basie At Newport
Jazz, Blues
Label: Verve Records ‎– MG VS-6024
Series: Clef Series –
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo
Country: US
Date of released:
Category: Jazz, Blues
Style: Big Band
Category: Jazz, Blues
Singer: Count Basie
Title: Count Basie At Newport
Rating: 4.3 / 5
Votes: 441
MP3 RAR size: 1547 mb
FLAC RAR size: 1835 mb

Count Basie - Count Basie At Newport

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Swingin' At Newport
Written-By, Arranged By – Ernie Wilkins
A2 Polka Dots And Moonbeams
Written-By – Jimmy Van Heusen And Johnny Burke
A3 Lester Leaps In
Written-By – Lester Young
B1 Sent For You Yesterday (And Here You Come Today)
Written-By – Count Basie, Eddie Durham, Jimmy Rushing
B2 Boogie Woogie (I May Be Wrong)
Written-By – Count Basie, Jimmy Rushing
B3 Evenin'
Written-By – Charles Daniels, Richard Whiting
B4 Blee Blop Blues
Arranged By – A.K. SalimWritten-By – Count Basie


  • Alto Saxophone – Bill Graham, Marshall Royal
  • Baritone Saxophone – Charlie Fowlkes
  • Bass – Ed Jones*
  • Drums – Jo Jones (tracks: A3, B1 to B3), Sonny Payne (tracks: A1, A2, B4)
  • Guitar – Freddie Greene*
  • Liner Notes – Bill Simon
  • MC – John Hammond
  • Photography By – Burt Goldblatt
  • Piano – Count Basie
  • Producer – Norman Granz
  • Tenor Saxophone – Frank Foster, Illinois Jacquet (tracks: B4), Lester Young (tracks: A2, A3, B1 to B4)
  • Tenor Saxophone, Flute – Frank Wess
  • Trombone – Benny Powell, Bill Hughes , Henry Coker
  • Trumpet – Joe Newman, Reunald Jones, Roy Eldridge (tracks: B4), Thad Jones, Wendell Culley
  • Vocals – Jimmy Rushing (tracks: B1 to B3)


Black deep groove label with silver print having large stereophonic text towards top.

Released beetween 1956-60

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
MGV-8243 Count Basie Count Basie At Newport ‎(LP, Album, Mono) Verve Records MGV-8243 US 1957
B0009522-02 Count Basie Count Basie At Newport ‎(CD, Album) Verve Records B0009522-02 US 2007
MGV-8243, MG V-8243 Count Basie Count Basie At Newport ‎(LP, Album, Mono, RE) Verve Records, DeAgostini MGV-8243, MG V-8243 UK 2017
8 50 076 Count Basie and Lester Young Count Basie and Lester Young - At Newport ‎(LP, Album, Mono, RE) AMIGA 8 50 076 German Democratic Republic (GDR) 1982
833 776-1 Count Basie At Newport ‎(LP, Album, Mono, Aud) Verve Records 833 776-1 Japan Unknown