The Critics Group - The Female Frolic
Folk, World, & Country
Label: Argo ‎– ZDA 82
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo
Country: UK
Date of released: 1968
Category: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk
Category: Folk, World, & Country
Singer: The Critics Group
Title: The Female Frolic
Rating: 3.7 / 5
Votes: 389
MP3 RAR size: 1459 mb
FLAC RAR size: 1625 mb
Other formats: MP2 TTA ADX MIDI WAV ASF MP4

The Critics Group - The Female Frolic


A1 The Doffin Mistress 1:15
A2 Girl Of Constant Sorrow 2:33
A3 The Blacksmith 2:55
A4 My Husband's Got No Courage In Him 1:51
A5 The Generous Lover 3:12
A6 The Whore's Lament 4:18
A7 Geordie 3:28
A8 Come Me Little Son 3:42
B1 The Female Frolic 4:05
B2 Children's Sequences 3:45
B3 An Old Man Came Courting Me 3:39
B4 Miner's Wife 1:21
B5 The Factory Girl 2:57
B6 Lowell Factory Girl 3:27
B7 The Broomfield Hill 2:56
B8 The Housewife's Lament 3:59

Companies, etc.

  • Record Company – The Decca Record Company Limited
  • Printed By – Graphis Press Limited


  • Autoharp – Peggy Seeger (tracks: A2, A8)
  • Concertina – John Faulkner (tracks: B7), Peggy Seeger (tracks: B1)
  • Guitar – Jack Warshaw (tracks: A8, B1, B4), Peggy Seeger (tracks: B4, B8)
  • Tin Whistle – Sandra Kerr (tracks: B1)
  • Vocals – Frankie Armstrong (tracks: A1, A4, A5, A7, B1, B2, B4), Peggy Seeger (tracks: A1, A2, A6, B2, B3, B6, B8), Sandra Kerr (tracks: A1, A3, A8, B2, B4, B5, B7)
  • Written-By – Ewan MacColl (tracks: A8, B4), Traditional (tracks: A1 to A7, B1 to B3, B5 to B8)


Copies included a fold out song sheet. Track times are software generated.

The songs are designated by origin as follows:
A1, A5, B5 Irish
A2, A6, B2, B6, B8 American
A3, A4, A7, B1, B2, B7 English
B2 Scots
B3 Canadian
A8, B4 Contemporary English

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1 runout): ZRG-3033-1G
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2 runout): ZRG-3034-1G

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
ZFB 64 The Critics Group The Female Frolic ‎(LP, Album, RE) Argo ZFB 64 UK 1972